A Fan No Longer (part 2)

Number One Fan Hand On Checkered Web Button

The spin for me of not being a fan of Jesus is simply this, Jesus said there will be difficult times as a follower of His, but He would not jump or abandon ship on us when times got tough, but rather He would be there right in the middle of it all- with us!

A fan has the option to bail out, a follower is committed to the end.

A fan can change teams, a follower is committed to the team.

Jesus does not need nor desire fans, after all what if Jesus were only a fan of humanity?  John 3:16 would sound a lot different- For God conditionally loved the world, only when they were completely obedient to Him that He gave His One and only Son… really???

Not being a fan is actually freeing.  I don’t have to hide behind the successes and failures of the team I cheer for.  Not being a fan, but being a follower is something that real people are made of!

I would like to end this post with a quote from Idelman’s book, Not A Fan:

“Fans who like seeing other people fail because in their minds it makes them look better. Fans whose primary concern in raising their children is what other people think. Fans who are reading this and assuming I’m describing someone else. Fans who have worn the mask for so long they have fooled even themselves.

I want to be real, I long to be real, my world needs a real me, your world needs a real you……….. I am a fan no longer!

Esse Realis

What do you think?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

