Real Reality

Have you ever encountered someone you knew was not really themselves, I mean they were, but they were behaving or imitating the qualities and personality of someone else, someone, maybe who they wanted to be like?

Well I have!

In fact I have been that person at times.  Not that I am proud about it, but it is the discovery of not being true to myself or to the talents, skills, and personality that I have been made with.  I have been cheating others from not being genuinely me.

Reality is defined by what it isn’t, for instance the definitions of real are:

 not artificial, fraudulent or illusory and genuine, not counterfeit, artificial, or imitation.

I think the reason I have wanted to be like other people in the past is because I was not happy with who I was, in fact I disliked myself and the situations I was in so much, that I would dress like others, talk like others, act to a certain degree like others, but what I was truly missing was me!

When I am not my true self it is much like when a compass is not heading true north, the magnetic declination is taking me off course to where I want to be.  When I am not real, I am not heading in the direction of my true self, I am off course.

True North

I see this ever so much in our culture today, in our churches, businesses, marriages, relationships, we/I am afraid to be who I am, in fear that I may not be accepted by what society says is acceptable- however, my question to myself is: what does God say about what is acceptable?

See, my perceived worldview has shifted from what society/culture/others say is acceptable to what God says is acceptable.  The 1970’s-2000’s rock band Petra used to sing a song called God Pleaser, the lyrics were simply, yet profoundly- I don’t want to be a man pleaser, I want to be a God pleaser!

This is the real reality: bankers don’t handle counterfeit money to know it’s counterfeit, they handle the real thing and when a bill passes through their hands that is not real- they know!

~EsseRealis

2 thoughts on “Real Reality

Add yours

  1. I struggle with this from time to time. I want to be accepted, but yet I want to be myself at the same time. It is a constant struggle on some days. Of course, it only comes out with some people. My close friends I have no problem being my true self with. Others….it takes some work.

    Thanks for being honest bro.

    Like

    1. Not a problem Jamin, thanks for taking the time to be honest yourself! I believe honesty is partially the key to being our real self, yet honesty is hard enough at times with ourselves, let alone other people!

      Like

What do you think?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

