P.M.S.? Not exactly what you’re thinking…

Personal Mission Statement is what you were thinking, right?

Developing a PMS is something that I have been thinking about for some time, but have not really settled with one particular statement that says- Yes! that is my life’s mission.

So I went looking online for mission statements that were focused at the personal level, this website was one that popped up.  Another site I found useful is written by Rosetta Thurman who writes about 3 areas to focus on when developing your PMS:

  • Identify Your Values
  • Envision Your Values in Action
  • Write Your Personal Mission Statement

Stephen Covey also focuses on PMS in habit 2 of the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.

Another helpful site is written by Dr. Hansen, author and professor who offers a 5 step process to help develop your PMS.

The incident that actually reignited the developing of a PMS was over lunch when a couple of friends and I were discussing mission statements of different organizations, some were quite inspirational, while others, well not so much!  The one that nailed it for me was the creed of the US Navy Seals , it is one of those inspirational mission statements that jumps out and says, wow- that is direction and purpose:

One of my favorite Leadership Training organizations is that of Klemmer and Associates, their Mission Statement is:

… to create bold ethical leaders who will create a world that works for everyone with no one left out.

I want my Personal Mission Statement to inspire me every day, to give me that jump that allows me to come alive each and every moment of my life.

A PMS gives direction to the values we hold to, a sense of purpose and aim on how to live life, I believe everyone has a PMS, whether it is conscious or sub-conscious, it is the driving force on how we live our lives on a day to day basis.

My goal over the next period of time is to define my PMS and write it down in a post.  The post will simply be entitled: My P.M.S. (Personal Mission Statement).  The resource that I have decided to use to work out my personal mission statement can be found at David Kinard’s website.

Here’s to a PMS!

~EsseRealis

What do you think?

