Don’t Judge a Book by it’s Cover!

The old saying “don’t judge a book by its cover” is really saying give the book a chance before you disregard it as something of  no worth or value.  There are times I find myself doing this with people, (now don’t judge me as I am sure you have probably done the same thing!!) you know like judging their appearances, maybe their lifestyle, their school they attended, where they go to church, or don’t go!  By what kind of car they drive, or where they live in the community, what they do for a job, or don’t do!

Where no man has gone before
Genius?

I know what the golden rule says, but just because I know something does not mean I actually do it!  I have to live it out on a daily basis, which is quite easier written and said than done.

According to Merriam Webster,the word judge when used as a verb means- to form an estimate or evaluation of; especially : to form a negative opinion about <shouldn’t judge him because of his accent>

Who am I to judge?

Superman
Who can forget those eyes?

By default we judge, not that we are just or even correct in our judgments, but we seem to be in a comparable mindset (which is another post on its own- why do we need to compare ourselves to others?)

This has me thinking about covers, covers of books, magazines, and records.  Why?  I think because covers tell a story about what it is actually covering.  Some covers pull you in, some make you want to look the other way, and others make you want to find out more, but in the end Covers tell much about what the author wants you to react and respond to, it may not be what you are thinking, and that is what I find fascinating about the stories that covers tell.

Thanks again for dropping by!

~EsseRealis

What do you think?

