Q and A from Heidelberg in 1563

Question 1 of the Heidelberg Catechism

The first Question is asked in the Heidelberg Catechism:

Q. What is your only comfort in life and death?

Huh?

I was never asked that in church!  Did I miss something altogether in Sunday school class?

A. That I am not my own, but belong-

body and soul, in life and death, to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ!

Reading back in my journal, I reflected on this powerful concept of belonging:

I belong to you O God.  In my loneliness-YOU are there!  In my sleep and awakened state-YOU are there!  I belong to YOU when I am tired and when I am weak.  I belong to YOU when I feel strong and ready to face the day.  I belong to YOU.

In the book The Christ and the Bodhisattva, Brother David Stendl-Rast writes,

Accept your belonging…snap out of your alienation.  Don’t hang on to your private little self.  Open yourself to the gift of belonging.

Belonging is a gift from the Giver, I belong, body and soul, not to myself, but to my faithful Redeemer, the one and only, the WAY, TRUTH and LIFE, Jesus the Messiah!

~EsseRealis

What do you think?

