Trumpets for New Beginnings!

http://www.pray4zion.org/TheBiblicalFeastsofIsrael.html

Leviticus 23: 23 The LORD said to Moses, 24“Give the following instructions to the people of Israel. On the first day of the appointed month in early autumn,e you are to observe a day of complete rest. It will be an official day for holy assembly, a day commemorated with loud blasts of a trumpet. 25 You must do no ordinary work on that day. Instead, you are to present special gifts to the LORD.” (New Living)

Shofar

Listen to the Shofar.

The festival of Trumpets, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Teruah (Feast of Trumpets), The Civil New Year are the names given to the festival that is celebrated on the first 2 days of the month of Tishri, (September or October).  This is the fifth feast of seven (Passover, Unleavened Bread, Firstfruits, Pentecost, Trumpets, Atonement, Tabernacles) and the first of the fall festivals.

A great read on the Biblical festivals can be found here.

As of late I have been researching the connection between the Biblical Festivals as laid out in Leviticus 23 to Jesus and the future of Israel.

Let me preface this first: I serve as a Christian chaplain at many different levels, I grew up in a pastor’s home, went to college and seminary to study Theology, and for the most part thought I knew some things about God.  I know that knowing about God and knowing God are 2 separate thoughts.  However, what I am discovering to learn is that I am a very small part of a huge puzzle!  There is so much going on that I am oblivious to and I get to write about it in this forum of thought, that is for the most part, a tiny speck in the realm of knowledge.

As a North American Messiah follower, I have come to realize that I am very ignorant towards these Biblical feasts.  Not on purpose, and not to put down any school of thought, but I have never been taught to connect the dots of the Hebraic roots of what it means to follow Yeshua, especially in relation to His coming next!

I really get turned off by people who have all these theories as to when 1 Corinthians 15:52 will happen: “in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.”  Remember 88 reasons as to why the rapture will happen in 1988?  I was scared to sleep for the entire year!  There have been many so called rapture dates, but for me the connection has never been there until now!  And the connection with the Biblical Feasts has been refreshing and renewing to say the least.

We’re still here in 2013!

Our God is a God of order and timing- look towards the sky and remember our Creator God, timing is His specialty!  As I continue to dig into how I fit into the larger puzzle, I am aware that there are things going on that I cannot control or understand, but I can be alert and do my due diligence as to what God is doing and how I can join in!

Once again, thanks for reading,

~EsseRealis

One Comment

What do you think?

