Loneliness Alone…

Have you ever felt alone?

Better yet, have you ever experienced loneliness?

“Close friends are truly life’s treasures. Sometimes they know us better than we know ourselves. With gentle honesty, they are there to guide and support us, to share our laughter and our tears. Their presence reminds us that we are never really alone.”

EsseRealis is a Latin phrase meaning “to be real, to really exist“, so let me be real for a few moments about my personal thoughts on alone and loneliness.

The other night as I was at a training event for the fire department, I was sitting by myself in a smoky house in the dark.  The thought occurred to me about what it means to really be alone, the thought that automatically came to my mind was “the absence of God”.

Absent from God…

Maybe it is because of the line of work that I am in, but I find chaplaincy work very lonely.

If I use my definition of alone meaning ‘absence of God’ with my line of work as a chaplain, then that really scares me!

As an introvert- MB type ISFJ, I appreciate alone time, I mean I long for it, however, as much as I recharge being alone, I have never been able to accept loneliness.  I can not accept being absent from God, or maybe it is God being absent from me that I do not want to imagine?

I guess what I am trying to get at is that even when I am at my loneliest- Jesus, the Son of God experienced loneliness too, and maybe He still experiences loneliness every now and then when I am not totally aware of His presence in our world.

Father, please forgive me for at times not wanting to be with you or rather wanting to hide from you in order to be alone, I am afraid of my loneliness and afraid of Your absence in my life.

~EsseRealis

2 thoughts on “Loneliness Alone…

Add yours

  1. I have had times in my life when I felt alone, especially growing up. I can think of several times when rejection set in and loneliness was quick to follow. I have had experiences within my own family where I tried to connect with them and felt rejection…Alone again, naturally. But in the absence of human rejection, there is that peace that comes from the Lord that surpasses my understanding. I am glad it does. Love you, son and I hope you have never felt alone because of me and if you have, please forgive me.

    Like

    1. Thanks Dad, and no I never felt alone because of you or anyone in our family. The stark reality in all of this is teaching me that I can choose to stand alone in the arena or I can look for my company of brothers to take up arms with- that is a choice we all have, but for some reason being alone has become the most popular choice and easiest one- I guess that is where I find myself.
      Thanks for the wisdom once again!

      Like

What do you think?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

