Trusting others with You

I Trust You with my Life!

This week I have noticed a common theme in some of the conversations I have been part of, the common thread through those conversations has been that of trust.  I find myself deeply connected to the word trust, I am not sure if it is because I value trust from others, or simply that trust is something that is concrete- you either have it or you don’t!   That has led me to believe that I cannot trust myself with others…until that trust is gained, earned, or upheld.  However, the part I recognize in myself is similar, I need to earn and gain that trust, I cannot assume trust from close friends, family, or anyone else for that matter based upon my profession in life, or my previous experiences in gaining the trust of others.  Trust is one of the virtues I value above all else.

Psalm 9:10 And those who know your name put their trust in you,
for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you.

The other side of trust is different than that of belief. Psalm 9:10 hits me to the core because it is in knowing God that allows me to put my complete trust in God.  God will never break that trust, that is not a quality of God, however, as a fallen human being in this sin stained world we live in, my efforts in trust are on a daily basis of action.

A few years ago I was wrestling with trust, and this is the conclusion I have come to,

Love God, Love People.  Trust God, Love People.

It is not that I do not trust people, it is simply that I can only put my complete trust in One.  I cannot even place myself in that category, I cannot trust myself completely.  There is only One whom I can trust:

Proverbs 3:5-7:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not rely on your own insight.
In all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight your paths.
Do not be wise in your own eyes;
fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.

Brian Klemmer wrote these gems on trust in his book- The Compassionate Samurai:

Why Trust?

  • It’s the only way to access the synergistic power of teamwork,
  • it builds relationship and intimacy,
  • it releases time, freedom and efficiency,
  • it is the primary tool for making a difference and being of service,
  • and it gives you a feeling of exhilaration.

Thanks again for stopping by,

~EsseRealis

What do you think?

