Questions vs. Answers

I am a person who has more questions than answers.  I often wonder why, but then, I am quickly turned to the what.  I am now discovering that to take those what questions and filter them through how.  Answers always seem to be vague and easy while questions tend to have work and thought connected to them.

If all we ever had were answers would we ever learn anything?

Lately I have a lot of questions, questions concerning high school friends of mine who are going through an extremely difficult period of loss and tragedy- I have no answers, only questions.  I have questions around what makes a hopeless situation all of a sudden become hopeful again…

These questions have no immediate answers, and I guess I am not looking for the answers per se, but rather, comfort in the questions.  I see on facebook a lot of questions, many requiring an intellectual response.  We can reason answers that are either right or wrong, which to me is not the best way to look for answers.  We have been programmed through our culture, education system, parenting to provide the right answers!

Life is not about right or wrong, it is about the way we respond to our daily experiences.

Life is not about answers, life is about questions and what we learn in those experiences,

Am I right???

Thanks again for stopping by,

~EsseRealis (Being Real)

7 Comments

  1. Well posed questions. . .with no answers (smiling here). I heard the line years ago, The greatest teacher is the one who teaches students to be self taught. I still find that a good motivator for teaching and wondering about our complex world. Those who offer final, absolute conclusions don’t seem to be paying attention. Chaplaincy, it seems to me, is primarily about paying attention. Asking questions together can be delightful, though maybe not ultimately satisfying!

    Like

    1. Well said Chris, paying attention is key to our role as chaplains! A mentor of mine told me that we should not be afraid of problems (questions) but rather enjoy them because they help us learn through the figuring out of the solution, and therefore become a problem solver rather than a problem maker.
      Brandon

      Like

  2. When we stop asking questions we stop learning. When we stop learn we are merely existing until we stop breathing. It takes humility and discipline to avoid or overcome that state – humility to admit we still have much to learn no matter how old or experienced we are, and discipline to seek out the learning even at great cost. The tragedy is that most people reach that state of non-learning at a very young age and never realize it.

    Like

    1. That is a tragedy indeed, if I ever stop asking questions on this blog, feel free to bark some reality into me!!!! I was afraid to ask questions in school for fear of looking or sounding stupid, now I realize the opposite is true of myself- it is stupid to not ask questions. The life long learning school of experience.

      Like

What do you think?

