Catchphrases from SNL

Growing up in the 80’s-90’s the talk on Monday mornings in High School would always involve somewhere in the conversation a piece about what had happened on SNL.  Now this was before the days of Youtube and PVR, so if you missed it, well you had to wait for the VHS (that is a video tape that you actually had to fast forward or rewind and wait for the part you wanted to watch) to come out, or the rerun.

One of the earliest memories for me of SNL was the Hanz and Franz skit- “We just want to pump (clap) you up!”

“Girlie Maaan!”

Announcer: Good evening. And welcome again to “Pumping Up With Hans & Franz”, the informative training program for the serious weightlifter. Franz: Hello! We’re back! Hans: I am Hans. Franz: And I am Franz.

This just became part of our lingo and you could throw it in anywhere, at a pick up basketball or football game, it was our way of putting the intimidation factor in the other team!

So with respect to the beloved 40th SNL anniversary that took place last weekend, here is my ode to the catchphrases that shaped myself and millions of others in my generation.

“Daaa Bears”

Bill Swerski’s Superfans- Daa Bears!

“Well…La dee freakin da!” “Living in a van down by the river” “Jack Squat!”

Matt Foley who has been drinking coffee in the basement for the past 3 hours, a motivational speaker, thrice divorced, and lives…

“I’ve got a fever, and the only prescription is more cowbell.”

More cowbell please, cause I got a fever

“No waay” “Waay” “Schwinng”

Wayne’s World Wayne’s World- Party on Wayne…Party on Garth!

“What is love, baby don’t hurt me”

You know you want to bob your head to the music!
Hey, you wanna dance, huh? Me? Him? Me? Him? Him? Me? Me? Me? Him? Him? Me? Him? Him!

“I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it people like me”

Daily affirmations with Stuart Smalley

“Buh Bye”

Okay, here we go – thanks for flying with us, buh-bye. Buh-bye! Thanks, now. … I’m sorry, what part didn’t you understand – the buh or the bye? Buh-bye.

“Simma down now”

Nadeen: Just simmah down now. … Nadeen: Fine, you tell David Thomas he better simmah down now too! Woo … We won’t simmer down now.

“Live from New York, It’s Saturday Night”

I am off to eat my steady diet of government cheese living in a van down by the river,  No Waay, Waay, Daaa Bears, I’ve got a fever, to pump (clap) you up, simma down na, Buh Bye!

~EsseRealis

What do you think?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

