Being Real: Be YOUR Best!

For most of my life  I have lived with the view that I had to be THE best at whatever I tried, pursued, and acted upon. Failure was never an option… cue the sound of a needle scratching on a record… that is the sound of failure becoming a reality!  I had always perceived failure as the enemy, as something that wasn’t perfect, or the best.  What I have learned over the past few years is that being the BEST is not even comparable to being MY best.

Everyday we wake up and the reset button was pressed, yesterday’s lessons from what didn’t work need not be applied today. This seems to be the lesson that I am in process of still applying when it comes to being the very best possible version of myself. The world we are part of, whether it be work, school, community, family, friends, or anywhere you find yourself, it does not need the BEST person, it needs the BEST version of YOU.

I am the first to admit that I am not perfect, and in fact perfection is something I no longer look to attain.  Perfectionist-ic views and belief systems hold me back from being REAL.  My family and friends don’t need a perfect Brandon, what they need is the very best version of myself, the real me!

This post is more for me as a guidepost of who I am and who I am becoming, it is one of those marking points where you realize that life happens, circumstances happen, some of those are great, and some are downright awful.  But I choose to not let my circumstances and events that I experience rip away who I really am, after-all today I am choosing to be the best version of me.

Thanks for dropping by,

~EsseRealis 

What do you think?

