Being Real: Paradox of Reality

I don’t know about you, but some days I just don’t care.

I don’t want to be real today,

I am more comfortable with the charades of life.

Pretending is easier than being real, why is it so?

Do I even know who the real me is anymore,

I thought I used to,

but now I am not so sure.

The real me wants to live on a beach,

listen to the waves carry all my cares out to sea,

But this is not reality, at least not one with purpose.

I want to live on purpose,

but not everyday,

some days I just want to be left

alone.

Today I don’t want to be real, and that is me being real,

thus the paradox of reality.

~EsseRealis

6 thoughts on “Being Real: Paradox of Reality

Add yours

  1. As I read your post, I understand your longing; I find myself longing for another reality too. An escape, where the cares of this world are far away. I used to think this escape was earthly. More and more I realize my escape is not to another earthly destination, my escape is actually to my home where my citizenship is. I miss home; my heavenly home. Hebrews 11:13-16 sums up my dissatisfaction with this reality, “All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth. 14People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. 15If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. 16Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them.” When I think of escaping my present reality, I am constantly reminded that on that beach with no care in sight, my reality would still not be satisfied; I would still yearn for home, Heaven, just as the saints before us.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Sandy! Good insights to the reality we call life. I think you should start your own blog as you would have a lot of interesting perspectives and questions- people would enjoy reading your posts, myself included! I also think part of heaven will include a beach or 2 for those times us introverts need to get away!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My heart is same with you guys. A few days ago, i happened to be on the beach of the Sea of Galilee! For the first time in my life, i was able to hear what heaven would have meant to the Jews in the first century. The tour guide who was a Messianic Jew and a son of the Torah teacher said, “heaven would have meant the perfect world, the renewed earth, the transformed earth, the God’s throne on earth.” So now, i desire more for the heavenly Kingdom to come here than for me to escape to the Kingdom of heaven. thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

