Being Real: Being Dad

feature image: https://alphanation.com/motivation/what-it-means-to-be-a-father/

I love being a Dad.

I have had a great role model of being a father.  My dad taught me many lessons about life, learning, faith and love.

Today I find myself as a dad, sometimes questioning my own skills as being a father to my daughters.

I love being a Dad, and I admit that I have made many mistakes as a father to my daughters.  

An important lesson I learned from my father was to admit your mistakes and that you were wrong, and then do what needs to be done to restore the relationship.

forgiveness-hands-540x304

I have gone to my daughters many times asking for their forgiveness for my sharp and ill-timed remarks, for my actions of selfishness and not love.  

I hope I am modelling what it means to love unconditionally!  I hope I am showing them that I am a human being, capable of making mistakes, but with a capacity to forgive and be forgiven.

I love my daughters, I love being a dad!

Yeshua referred to G-d as Father.

I have much to learn about being a good father.  I have much to learn about being a good son and follower.  Yeshua (Matthew 22:37) quoted from Torah, the Hebrew Scriptures in Deuteronomy 6 and said the greatest commandment, or words to be obeyed were:

“Love Adonai  with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your mind.  And to love your neighbor as yourself.”

hand_in_hand

Being a father to my daughters- do they see my love for G-d by the way I love them and others, by the way I love myself- not out of selfishness, but out of respect and love for the words of G-d?

I love my daughters, I love being a dad, being a dad consists of humility, empathy, and strength to be their dad, not their friend.  

As I have experienced, being friends with my parents comes later in life.

~EsseRealis

What do you think?

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

